辩论课程: 冬令营

辩论课程: 第二学期

辩论课介绍

基础班的设置目的是让每个同学对辩论有个坚固的基础,为以后的辩论有个强有力的开端。没有经过基础训练的同学往往会在其他级别的辩论课上迷失,从而阻止学生应有的进步,进而影响孩子对辩论的兴趣。我们相信,没有牢固的基础知识,很难在高级辩论中胜出。这就是为什么基础课是升入辩论中级班的的必须条件。

本课程涵盖了所有辩论的基础知识, 从辩论的结构和介绍辩论的初级技能概念开始。第一节课介绍论据和演讲结构,接下来的课程包括有效反驳,加拿大辩论风格规则, 如何记笔记,演讲风格,怎么样选择有影响力的观点,分析辩论主题来设定辩论, 以及分辨正反方“论证责任”。基础班也会包括辩论经常涉及到的主题的知识扩展,包括刑事司法和国际关系方面的知识。

学生要升入中级班必须完成至少一个学期的基础班。

课程设置为2小时, 包括4-7年级 (小学) 和 8-12年级 (中学/高中).

本课程的设置主要是通过加拿大辩论或者英国议会制辩论来练习开发学生的中级辩论技能。课堂上学生重点练习具体的辩论技能来帮助学生尽快掌握并进入到下一个级别的辩论;同时继续扩展学生的知识量。

技能训练主要包括策略性论据选择, 学习使用多种层面的分析和反驳来提高论据质量, 概括总结和权衡技能的应用,中级“论证责任”的分析,以及实战演练来加强提高中级班学到的技能(包括论题介绍,演讲,记笔记的连贯性)。教练可以根据学生情况灵活选择辩论知识(论题), 包括经济, 女权, 新闻, 动物权利等等主题。

学生要升入高级班必须完成至少一个学期的中级班, 经过教练推荐, 并参与最少3个辩论赛 。

中级班设置为2小时,包括4-7年级 (小学) 和 8-12年级 (中学/高中).

高级预备班事是针对学生还没有完全准备好进高级班, 但是接近于高级班的要求。高级预备班的老师会着重克服和提高孩子们的弱项, 并准备学生高级水平的技能,为孩子们进入高级班做准备。

这个课程专门为对辩论有激情, 并考虑追求高竞争性辩论的同学设置。课程由相关教练根据学生们的弱项来有针对性的提高改善而决定, 同时也会考虑学生的需要和目标。

课程将针对提高学生的风格和内容, 同时教授高级策略技巧, 包括原则论证,非反驳性(指出对方所说错误或者没有包括在他们的论证里)的辩论技巧, 关于总结概括和权衡论据方面不同呈现风格的应用。 教练可以根据学生情况灵活选择辩论知识(论题), 包括更加有挑战性的和更加详细具体的辩论主题。

学生必须在教练的推荐下, 并经过选拔才能决定是否从高级班进入精英班。

高级班设有4-7年级 (2小时) 和 8-12年级 (3 小时).

这个课程专为辩论学院最具竞争性的, 将代表学院参加加拿大, 美国, 以及世界辩论赛的学生设置。所有课程由辩论学院的高级教练主持,大部分课程将集中针对特定的辩论赛培训, 包括最流行的美式辩论方式 -公开论坛式辩论。

入选精英班的条件是教练推荐和选拔。这个水平的学生会经常赢得各种奖项, 并具有出色的,能在生活中的各个领域运用的辩论技能 。点击”奖项和荣誉“, 查看精英班学生的获得的奖项。.

学期时间表

  • 第一学期:2019年9月9日 – 2019年12月15日 (14 周)
  • 冬令营:2019年12月23号 – 2020年1月4号的
    周一、周二、周五、周六
    (8天)
  • 第二学期:2020年1月6日 – 2020年3月15日 (10 周)

第二学期:1月6日 – 3月15日

点击下方链接,查看课程选项。

Debate Classes: Term 3

Debate Class Descriptions

This course is designed to give students a very solid and strong start to debate. Without going through the Foundation course, students easily get lost, which hinders their improvement and affects their interest in debate. We believe that no one can succeed at a high level without learning the basic, fundamental skills. This is why we ask all our students to complete a term of Foundations before moving into the Intermediate class.

This course covers the basics of debate, beginning with structure and introducing beginner-level debate concepts. The first lesson will be on argument and speech structure, with the following lessons on effective rebuttal, Canadian National Debate Format rules, note-taking, presentation style, how to make an impactful point, analysing debate topics to setup the debate, and identifying the “burden” of each side. There will also be knowledge sessions on common debate topics including criminal justice and international relations.

Students must complete one term of Foundations before advancing to the Intermediate level of Debate.

Classes are two hours long and are open to students in Grades 4-7 (Elementary) and Grades 8-12 (Middle/High School).

This course has been designed to develop intermediate debate skills through use of challenging debate topics in domestic formats of debate (Canadian National Debate Format or British Parliamentary). In class, students focus on specific debate skills to help them progress more quickly to the next level while they expanding their knowledge.

Skill lessons will cover strategic argument choice, using multiple lines of analysis and rebuttal, drills on improving quality of argumentation, use of framing and weighing devices, intermediate-level burden analysis, and drills on earlier skills (intros, presentation, note-taking) to further refine them. Knowledge sessions are at the discretion of the coach but may include debates on economics, feminism, journalism, animal rights, and more.

Students must complete at least one term of Intermediate, gain coach approval, and attend a minimum of 3 debate tournaments before moving to the Advanced level of debate.

Classes are two hours long and are open to students in Grades 4-7 (Elementary) and Grades 8-12 (Middle/High School).

This course is for strong debaters who are passionate about debate and are considering pursuing debate competitively. The lessons of this course are chosen by the coach to target specific areas of student weakness and will be decided based on the needs and goals of the debaters.

Lessons will be aimed at specifically improving student style and content, while introducing higher-level strategic tools in debate such as principled argumentation, meta-debating, and use of presentation style for framing and weighing issues. Knowledge sessions are at the discretion of the coach and will be on more challenging and nuanced debate topic areas.

Students must receive a coach’s invitation to try out and successfully complete an audition for Competitive Debate to move out of the Advanced level.

Classes are open to students in Grades 4-7 (2 hours long) and Grades 8-12 (3 hours long).

This course is for the academy’s most competitive debaters who will compete on behalf of the academy at major Canadian and American, as well as world  tournaments. All sessions are at the discretion of the top coaches of the academy, with a large portion of classes focused on training for specific tournaments, including tournaments that use the most popular American format of debate -Public Forum.

Prerequisites for entry into this class include both a coach recommendation as well as a try-out session. Students at this level frequently win top awards and have excellent skills that are easily transferable to other areas of their lives. Go to our Awards page to see some of the awards won by our current Competitive Debate students.

To gain access to this class, students must be invited to try out by their current coach as well as the Debate Program Director, Connor Stewart Hunter. Classes are 3 hours long and are specially packaged. Contact VDA for more information.

Term Schedule

  • Term 1: 10 Sept 2018 – 16 Dec 2018 (14 weeks)
  • Winter Camp: 27, 28, 29 Dec & 3, 4, 5 Jan (6 classes)
  • Term 2: 7 Jan 2019 – 17 Mar 2019 (10 weeks)
  • Spring Break Camp: Mar 18-22 & 25-29 (10 classes)
  • Term 3: 1 Apr 2019 – 23 Jun 2019 (12 weeks)

Term 2: Jan 7 – Mar 17
Term 3: Apr 1 – Jun 23

Click the link below to view Term 2 & Term 3 course options.